Use Your Powers for Good…be kind to others!

11700585_728597287249221_3642230714094415372_oWhen Frank Nelson (Glowing Hearts Community Give and Get Barrie Ontario) learned he was dying of cancer he decided he wanted to spend the time he has left helping strangers in need Frank, like many of us has noticed that while technology has connected us to everyone, it hasn’t done much for the dwindling sense of community Canadians once enjoyed. Pop culture is always telling us it takes a village to raise a child, as far as we’re concerned it takes a village to ensure that we all have what we need, we are losing our village so to speak. People are no longer possessed of the community spirit. Frank Nelson is trying to change that by bringing our community together to help each other,

I got the chance to speak with Frank yesterday when my husband and I dropped off a trunk load of canned and dry dog food for Frank and other local organizations to distribute to those who need it to feed their pets. During our chat we discussed Frank’s plans to bring Give and Get Centers to a few other cities in Ontario. I can understand his drive. We are given two jobs in life, to cause no intentional harm to others, and to leave the world a better place for our having been here. Frank Nelson is well on his way to accomplishing both.

At times in my life I came across people who helped me when I had no one to turn to. Having left home at 16 I had many low points in my life, and it always seemed that when a situation seemed hopeless along came a guardian angel that provided me with exactly what I needed. When I established myself later in life there was no way to repay those people for their kindness, so instead I paid it forward by helping others whenever I could. Frank Nelson is working on the same sort of principle, paying the small kindnesses forward is something he is passionately serious about.

As I watched Frank for a while interacting with the clients of the Give and Get, I realized he truly is at his happiest when helping others. At a time when most people would be focused on themselves Frank does as much work with those who need him as he can. He truly is a remarkably selfless person, and I look forward to working with him in the future. My husband and I will continue to drop off pet foods whenever we can, but Frank has inspired me to get involved on a deeper level, to do more. I don’t know what that will mean going forward, but whatever skills I possess are at his disposal.

If you would like to know more about the Community Give and Get Centre or Frank Nelson here’s the link to the Centre’s Facebook Page

Please remember; Use your powers for good…be kind to others!

Until Next Time

Namaste’

